Sing, Sang, Sung – “Hellfire” From Disney’s “The Hunchback Of Notre Dame”

Okay. So in lieu of talking about anything that carries and real weight today (due to a lack of time on my part… walking apparently takes some of that away from you), I am going to revert to part of the conversation my roommates and I had last night.

By the way… if you happen to know my roommates, please force them to watch Disney movies. Also “An American Tail.” It’s only our differing schedules that hasn’t made me do it yet.

Anyway, we were talking all sorts of things last night, including singing songs. Eventually, it landed on Disney songs. At which point I was disappointed to discover my roommates did not necessarily know some of the more famous ones, like “Poor Unfortunate Souls,” the third best Disney villain song, in my opinion.

In fact, I’ll order the top five, because that’s all I can really think of right now for some reason anyway…

5. “The World’s Greatest Criminal Mind” – “The Great Mouse Detective”
4. “Friends on the Other Side” – “The Princess and the Frog”
3. “Poor Unfortunate Souls” – “The Little Mermaid”
2. “Be Prepared” – “The Lion King”
1. “Hellfire” – “The Hunchback of Notre Dame”

Bicker all you want, but that’s totally the official list. Granted, the top four in particular are really close, and likely the only reason “Friends” comes fourth is due to the classic nature of the other three. But no matter what, “Hellfire” is definitely number one.

Seriously, if you haven’t watched “Hunchback” in a while, do so. It has, without a doubt, the best soundtrack of any Disney film. It’s amazing, even if the story basically tells you ugly people will never get the woman as long as a handsome blond guy is around. …ugh.

Anyway, “Hellfire” comes in immediately after Quasimodo sings “Heaven’s Light.” It’s kind of the flip side of the coin in the reactions to Esmeralda. Quasi finds in her an inner peace and inner beauty he felt were impossible. Claude Frollo, however, becomes completely obsessed with her physical beauty and basically says she’s either got to sleep with him or burn to death.

Creepy. Especially in a kid’s movie.

But the Gregorian chanting, the Latin, the sound of it all… it’s amazing. I’m somehow often attracted to the “bad guy” roles (Macbeth, Iago from “Othello,” Brutus from “Julius Caesar,” Cauchon from George Bernard Shaw’s “Saint Joan”…) and this is definitely among them. I can’t really figure out what else to say about this except that, musically, it’s amazing. The content is horrific, but that somehow accents how wonderful the song is. Anyway… give it a listen. (The Latin is translated next to it.)

“Hellfire” – “The Hunchback of Notre Dame”

Confiteor Deo Omnipotenti (I confess to God almighty)
Beatae Mariae semper Virgini (To blessed Mary ever Virgin)
Beato Michaeli archangelo (To the blessed archangel Michael)
Sanctis apostolis omnibus sanctis (To the holy apostles, to all the saints)

Beata Maria (Beautiful Mary)
You know I am a righteous man
Of my virtue I am justly proud

Et tibit Pater (And to you, Father)

Beata Maria
You know I’m so much purer than
The common, vulgar, weak, licentious crowd

Quia peccavi nimis (That I have sinned)

Then tell me, Maria
Why I see her dancing there
Why her smold’ring eyes still scorch my soul

Cogitatione (In thought)

I feel her, I see her
The sun caught in raven hair
Is blazing in me out of all control

Verbo et opere (In word and deed)

Like fire
Hellfire
This fire in my skin
This burning
Desire
Is turning me to sin
It’s not my fault

Mea culpa (Through my fault)

I’m not to blame

Mea culpa (Through my fault)

It is the gypsy girl
The witch who sent this flame

Mea maxima culpa (Through my most griveous fault)

It’s not my fault

Mea culpa (Through my fault)

If in God’s plan

Mea culpa (Through my fault)

He made the devil so much
Stronger than a man

Mea maxima culpa (Through my most griveous fault)

Protect me, Maria
Don’t let this siren cast her spell
Don’t let her fire sear my flesh and bone
Destroy Esmeralda
And let her taste the fires of hell
Or else let her be mine and mine alone
Hellfire
Dark fire
Now gypsy, it’s your turn
Choose me or
Your pyre
Be mine or you will burn

Kyrie Eleison (Lord have mercy)

God have mercy on her

Kyrie Eleison (Lord have mercy)

God have mercy on me

Kyrie Eleison (Lord have mercy)

But she will be mine
Or she will burn!

Tagged , , , ,

One thought on “Sing, Sang, Sung – “Hellfire” From Disney’s “The Hunchback Of Notre Dame”

  1. allen993 says:

    I Really Love The Song Hellfire Performed By Tony Jay As The Voice Of Frollo And I Like
    His Wonderful Talent Singing “Hellfire” And He Is The Best Actor Of All Time And I Will N
    ever Forget That Old Man Who Once Lived As An Actor And He Is Most Respected Actor
    And A Sweet Caring Loving Father And Husband Of His Wife Marta And His Beloved Son Adam And This Song “Hellfire” Will Be A Remembrance Of His Passing! RIP.

    PS Tony Jay Was A Good Man Of His Time On Earth And He Was Lovable Respected
    Actor Of His Time And Past Since He Was Alive On Earth And He Is Never Forgot
    ten And Always Remembered All The Time! We Miss You, Mr. Jay!!!

Leave a comment