Sing, Sang, Sung – “Brown Eyed Girl” By Van Morrison

So, today didn’t start out so great. I am officially not cast in “Godspell,” and things like that just wear down my confidence and desire to continue on as an actor. Seriously, with only four callbacks in my life (one success) and only four auditions out of over 60 ending with me being cast in a show, it starts to get wearisome and makes me doubt my abilities. Hopefully, I can write my way into being semi-successful.

But, anyway, while the day started rather dour, I got to hang out (and geek out) with a wonderful friend of mine for an hour or two this afternoon, which was fantastic. And we had BETTER HANG OUT AGAIN, if you’re reading this, because it makes me happy and it’s awesome. Hopefully, that’s a two-way street. Then at trivia, we managed to be one point away from actually winning money… had we heard which question was the Double Down question, we’d’ve made it. Let’s call it a moral victory. Either way, it was fun.

And now it’s late. And while I’d love to talk about a conversation that’s been dominating my random chatter today, in which I’m somehow forced to tell people why hazing and abuse are BAD THINGS (especially abuse), I don’t have much time for that. Instead, I refer you to this classic song most people I know can sing along with. But we mentioned it at trivia, and then it played on the radio on the way home. So.

“Brown Eyed Girl” – Van Morrison

Hey where did we go,
Days when the rains came
Down in the hollow,
Playin’ a new game,
Laughing and a running hey, hey
Skipping and a jumping
In the misty morning fog with
Our hearts a thumpin’ and you
My brown eyed girl,
You my brown eyed girl.

Whatever happened
To Tuesday and so slow
Going down the old mine
With a transistor radio
Standing in the sunlight laughing,
Hiding behind a rainbow’s wall,
Slipping and sliding
All along the water fall, with you
My brown eyed girl,
You my brown eyed girl.

Do you remember when we used to sing,
Sha la la la la la la la la la la te da

So hard to find my way,
Now that I’m all on my own.
I saw you just the other day,
My how you have grown,
Cast my memory back there, Lord
Sometime I’m overcome thinking ’bout
Making love in the green grass
Behind the stadium with you
My brown eyed girl
You my brown eyed girl

Do you remember when we used to sing
Sha la la la la la la la la la la te da.

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

