Sing, Sang, Sung – “Let Me In” By The Unseen Guest

So, while several different things have been happening in the world (Mitt Romney has been saying stupid things and the Olympics have been… well, proceeding, with the added flavor of loads of controversy), I find myself to again be in one of those moods where I don’t feel like talking much about it.

I think it’s called “being exhausted?” I dunno. Whatever it is, it leads to a lot of yawning and wishing I were asleep. It may have something to do with getting very little sleep this weekend, moving and helping others move the past several days and pulling two 35-hour work weeks.

Or the fact that I haven’t had caffeine since February. Either is possible.

Anyway, I haven’t done one of these in a while. In light of my 35-hour work weeks, I’ve been listening to a lot of my Pandora radio station. And a song that appeared about a month ago and has consistently appeared since then is one “Let Me In” by The Unseen Guest.

I have no information about this group. Wikipedia seems to lack any article on them. All I can find is this webpage on WorldMusicCentral.org. Apparently, they aren’t quite a mainstream band yet. “Let Me In” seems to be their biggest hit so far. In fact, judging by the YouTube comments, I’m not the only one that discovered this song via Pandora. Good for the band. It’s good to be getting exposure, in any way possible.

As for the sound… it certainly has that unique, airy, aloof/mystic vibe that many artists like Snow Patrol or Regina Spektor seem to. Or perhaps Bon Iver is a better example?

I’m really not that good with music. My friend Trey Irby would be much better at explaining what I’m trying to say.

Anyway, this song does have a bit of a Bollywood vibe occasionally poking through with the strings (which I adore)… it seems like an almost foreign-based music style, but based in Western, English-speaking music order.

…I’m really bad at talking music. Look, just listen to the song. I think you’ll find it interesting (if the groups I keep posting are in your bailiwick).

“Let Me In” – The Unseen Guest

Well the days run together, the crowd at your front gate
but you can’t let them in, so you tell them to wait
and one by one, they file out the driveway
and your bell is still ringing, but down goes the day
so you take off your shoes and you turn off the volume
and they all go to sleep while you’re safe in your room
and in your bed at night, a stranger sleeps beside
and she opens your wardrobe and she fumbles inside

Let me in, let me in
or I’ll blow your house down
let me in, let me in
cuz there’s snow on the ground
I won’t wait here forever
and then you will see,
you should never say never,
cuz I sow what you reap.

Well they huddle on your doorstep
as the clouds start to break
and they scratch at your windows
and they bang on your gate
and they walk on your doormat in wet, muddy shoes.
And now and then, your lights go out
cuz they’ve stolen the fuse
and sometimes in the night, you answer the phone,
and they breathe down the line just to see if you’re home.
They sing in your garden like dogs, when they fight,
and that noise that they make drills holes in the night.

Let me in, let me in
or I’ll blow your house down
let me in, let me in
cuz there’s snow on the ground
I won’t wait here forever
and then you will see,
you should never say never,
cuz I sow what you reap.

Let me in, let me in
or I’ll blow your house down
let me in, let me in
cuz there’s snow on the ground
I won’t wait here forever
and then you will see,
you should never say never,
cuz I sow what you reap.

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

